Friday The 13th is a “Christian” thing

OF COURSE IT IS NOT!

I was wide-eyed & shocked when my colleagues made such association – and turned to me for clarification.

Not caring if they saw the expression on my face (I was unimpressed, much less amused) I said, “No, it is NOT a “Christian” thing. It’s a Superstition.”

Yes kids. Listen up.

“Friday The 13th” has NOTHING at all to do with Christianity – or any other religion that I know of! and I wonder how they even came up with such affiliation.

Then again, Easter brings a “Bunny” to the mind of some as does “Santa” to Christmas and presents – which also has NOTHING to do with each other actually (Do I hear gasps?) – but that can be on a post on its own so I shall not elaborate.

So, what IS “Friday The 13th” actually about then?

Quoting wikipedia:

One theory states that it is a modern amalgamation of two older superstitions: that thirteen is an unlucky number and that Friday is an unlucky day

…which I find interesting because while people can intentionally “erase” one, the other isn’t possible.

13 is an unlucky number

You may have noticed that some buildings do NOT use the number 13.

This is normally done by either making sure your building does not have more than 12 floors (or that each floor has not more than 13 rooms) OR by renumbering the number 13 to “12B” with 12 being “12A” OR simply “skipping over it” (11, 12, 14, 15, etc) – Superstitious. I have also seen buildings who apply the same rule to anything with a 3 in it (3, 13, 23, etc) or in another culture, the number 4 as that is considered the unlucky number.

Friday is an unlucky day

Somehow, I think this superstition has died off somewhat? I guess that may be in part due to the fact that unlike the number 13, as much as certain people would like to perhaps?, there is no pretending it does not exist, or renaming it, or skipping it! And on the contrary, now people have gone from treating it to an unlucky day to it being a day most looked forward to during the week – especially by wearied workers and partymakers who long for the weekend – what else would Rebecca Black have sung about right (below)?

Quoting wikipedia:

The fear of Friday the 13th has been called friggatriskaidekaphobia (Frigga being the name of the Norse goddess for whom “Friday” is named in English and triskaidekaphobia meaning fear of the number thirteen), or paraskevidekatriaphobia a concatenation of the Greek words Paraskeví (Παρασκευή, meaning “Friday”), and dekatreís (δεκατρείς, meaning “thirteen”) attached tophobía (φοβία, from phóbos, φόβος, meaning “fear”). The latter word was derived in 1911 and first appeared in a mainstream source in 1953.

That’s a mouthful to pronounced, huh?

Well, I don’t know about you but I for one am looking forward to the weekend!

Leaving you now with today’s anthem. Enjoy!

Rebecca Black – Friday

One response to “Friday The 13th is a “Christian” thing

  1. I never knew about the Friday the 13th is a bad day until my friend ask me why you are getting out on Friday the 13th. Its a bad day you know he ask me. I ignore it and went ahead. But something really happen when I was driving at the city center. A motorcyclist hit my car at the back. Luckily he’s okey and both of us just go to our separate way.

Comments are closed.