Poisson d’avril

That’s French for “April’s Fish”.

Yup,the 1st of April…perfect day to start a new blog.Finding my way around isn’t so simple afterall.

(Looks like I’m April’s Fool today…hmmm…)

Anyways, the story about “April’s Fish”…

It was just something I read in today’s paper…the origins of the April Fool “culture”…

In summary, something about how the French used to celebrate New Year around end of March-2nd April then one dude (who had the power of course) introduced the modern day calendar which celebrates new year on 1st January…as we do today. So anyways,back then they didn’t have the internet and news got around real slow so there was still some people who celebrated new year on 1st April…thus being called “April’s Fool” and bla bla bla…

(Read the paper if wanna know about the history of behind April’s Fool…I couldn’t care less actually. Heheh..)

What I am interested about is about the pranks/practical jokes ppl pull for the sake of the “April’s Fool” culture…now there’s something worth blogging about…

Have you ever been “punk’d” on April’s Fool? Do share all the glossy details…who? how? what? How’d you feel?

Me?

I can’t remember ever being the victim of the day…*thank God*

So am I the prankster you ask?

Well…not really…I was more of an innocent bystander as the pranks unravelled before my eyes….

*Flashback*

I was in high school at that time…Form 4 or 5…

See, my class was divided pretty much equally in girl:guy ratio. The girls were the “brains” and the guys were mostly there as the “eye candy” and “troublemakers”…although there were a few who could actually cut some slack in class. (No offence, my dear readers of the opposite sex. ;-p)

So anyways…it was 1st April and the guys, being the troublemakers they were, decided to pull a prank on one of our teachers…

They took the over-white over-chalked boardduster and started to “dust” the teacher’s chair till it was snowy white…

And then they went back to their seats and waited…

The rest of us “innocent bystanders” had just been sitting in our seats all this while, watching the guys “prepare” their ultimate prank…personally,I didn’t like it. But I didn’t do anything about it either….

And in walks the teacher….

What happened?

The craziest thing actually!

I DON’T REMEMBER!!!

I guess what happened next was so traumatic I blocked it out….

HONEST, I have no idea what happened that day…

But I have the vague feeling that one of the following MIGHT have happened:

1. The teacher sat down and after discovering the prank (innocent as it may be) turned “incredible hulk” on us (and wiped out my memory in the process).

2. The “innocent bystanders” couldn’t sit by and watch anymore and got up and replaced the chair…thus foiling the prank and registering no memories for me.

3. …anything could have happened…

REALLY…no April Fool here ppl…I HONESTLY don’t remember anything.

(Maybe May can shed some light on that event…hmm..)

So, what was YOUR most memorable April Fool prank, be it victim or prankster?

***

I got this sms today:

“The job will start soon. If free,go to our office in X Building or at Spg X, Xth Floor. Rgstr urself in the X System use SPM result”

It was from a contact in a department in the state govt. It was a data entry job…a contract-basis actually.

And it pays an extra RM100 than the job that I’m starting tomorrow…Heh.

“When it rains,it pours…”

3 responses to “Poisson d’avril

  1. this is crazy..i dont remember anything either..what happened next?..not what happened to the teacher..but what happened to us?..*blurry*

  2. Bwahahaha….crazy kan?
    And I tot only ME yg memory lost…
    Bt u rmbr the part the guys “dust” the teacher’s chair with blackboard duster kan?
    I x think I imagined that…

Comments are closed.