It’s Spring in Kuching, theSpring that is…

It may be summer all year round in Malaysia but it was Spring in Kuching… 😀

Around noon on Thursday, 10th Jan 2008, I went to the 1st day opening of theSpring with my bro and his colleague… Inspite of it being expected (being a public holiday and everyone excited about the newest mall in the city and all) I still found the jam shocking. Let me put it this way – If you were in a helicopter flying over theSpring, you’d see cars all around the building and there was not a parking space in sight for at least some hundred feets from the building. Some even parked all the way at the Simpang Tiga parking lot and walked all the way to theSpring! In the blazing sun some more! *speechless* Fortunately, we got a parking space right in front of theSpring (across the road lah)…hehe…

View of the main entrance of theSpring…(the names on top of the building are of the 2 main tenants)

Secret Recipe – the 1st of many restaurants that you’ll see as you enter theSpring

We entered through the main entrance (Secret Recipe was on our right) and proceeded inside and into the throngs of people… Shops on the left, right and in front of us and all I could do was take a mental note of what shops I passed. Kinda like mental bread crumbs so I don’t lose track of where we came from and where we’ve been…except we’re not lost. We’re in paradise! 😀

All the while inside, I couldn’t help but be reminded of KLCC (and a bit of OneUtama)… It’s the design. It’s not the Twin Towers of course but it does resemble Suria KLCC, except its smaller (duh!)

Let me take you on a virtual tour of theSpring (a little self-imagination may be required)…

We are currently on the ground (I will refer to this as level 1) floor. There’s a fountain towards center left.

View from level 1 down…until basement level.

View from the level 1 to the top (level 3)

The fountain was made out of what looked like plastic plates and metal rods, and no-matter-how “cheap” that sounds, it doesn’t look cheap at all. I bet it didn’t come cheap either! It was…chic and stylish. Classy! The water runs down the metal rods, all the way down to the pool and if you see closely, there are already a few coins inside the pool! I wonder whether they were deliberately thrown in ala wishing-well or whether the coins fell in when people bend over to look at the fountain…hmmm…

Anyways, at the very end left, there was this center stage propped up ala catwalk stage. I assume it was used for the opening…but I simply love the trees surrounding the area…It was a really breathtaking view…

 

This was taken from the 2nd floor so you can’t see the trees here.

But you can see 2 of the trees here! Hehe…lovely huh? This was also taken from the 2nd floor, the people on stage are doing Tai-Chi. 🙂

So now we track back past the fountain and now head to the right side…

At the very end right there was a Nissan show-display set up. There were 2 Nissan Grand Livina and a Nissan Latio…We ended up spending the longest time here. Boys being boys, my bro and his colleague couldn’t get enough of the beauties. Yes, they were nice…but my attention span to cars were not as long…Instead, I focused my camphone to these nearby:-

One of the many trees inside theSpring

Lovely…lovely…lovely…

I’m telling you, I can’t get enough of those beautiful trees!!! And they’re not even REAL! What are those? Sakuras? Lovely…It really feels like Spring here…

Anyways, from the show-display area, we were near the Food Bazaar. That’s the foodcourt here. There was Malay, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Western and many other types of dishes to choose from, but it was too packed. (serious! It was like we were in the market!) Food Bazaar reminded me of a foodcourt in one of the malls in KL but I forgot which mall. Hehe…

We went to the 2nd floor too, but nothing really caught my attention except for some unknown mascots in front of Bata… 🙂

 

Other than that, the 2nd floor housed more branded and designer shops – clothes, shoes, make-up, bags – like 1st floor did too…Off the top of my head, I can remember Levi’s, Giordano, Nose, MNG, Elianto, Viss, …etc…

I told you theSpring is shopping paradise! 😀

3rd floor was not yet opened for the public, so we checked out the basement next. Nothing much though…just the exit to the underground carpark…and a few shops not yet opened…and the pool of the fountain of course…

So yeah, we finished exploring theSpring…but then as we made our way back to the main entrance, I simply had to take a snap of this neat little kopitiam with its old-skool decor surrounded by the modern-ness of everything else…

Kluang Station…neat huh? More busy than any LRT station…haha… 🙂

Check out the menu:-

Yeah…I’m definitely coming back to try the food here! 😀

…And as with all the other eateries in theSpring, even the high-end tenant beside it was packed…

When have you ever seen Starbucks THIS busy?

I’m telling you…Nowadays, Kuching people have deep pockets when it comes to food. 😀

So what’s so special about theSpring? Its name…its OneUtama/SuriaKLCC-like design…its size…its tenants… In short, EVERYTHING…Hehehe…

Yeah!!! The biggest mall in Kuching is now OPEN!!!

P.S. – theSpring‘s theme is the Spring season…I wonder if there will be theSummer, theAutumn and theWinter in the future…That would be cool. 😀

20 responses to “It’s Spring in Kuching, theSpring that is…

  1. Haha…Yup. I know it’s big in Sibu, but it’s relatively unknown here…LOL. Come up to Kch la…so cool got new malls…Boulevard, theSpring and soon maybe the Green Heights Mall is opening…hehe…

    Welcome to my blog btw. You’ve been missing for ages! Haha…

  2. kch ppl r so damn patience when it comes to new eateries. they’re willing to queue that looooooooooooooooong so that they can get seats.

    as if sushi king/kenny rogers/starbucks gonna bankrupt in a month’s time.

    soon there will be burger king at boulevard, for sure kch ppl serbu burger king.

    i love ta kiong, owez go to ta kiong in sibu. cheap imported goods.

  3. Haha…Kch people “kiasu” maa…LOL. Exactly! That’s why we just go round2 see the shops, didn’t even bother going in them…wait till the hype die down a bit then go there again. Haha…Really? Got Burger King huh? Cool. 1 and only…
    I never went to Ta Kiong. Next time lah see what so best about it. LOL.
    Btw, used your My Privilege Card / Vouchers dy??? 😀

  4. Stop having all the KL shops already!!! Its like robbing off my shopping pleasure in KL!

    Wanna buy this, kenotttt – Kuching got already! VISS is in Kuching too? DAMN!

    Oh well, at least Zara and Topshop is still only here in KL, right!!???

  5. cdason,
    They’re making a hotel beside tHeSpring? Really? I know there’s gonna be a hotel beside Boulevard…that’s Imperial Hotel (I think)…hehe… Thanks for dropping by! I’ve been to your blog before btw. 🙂

    CharYeLLe
    Zara and Topshop…They’re not in Kuching I think. Yet. Hehehe… It’s cool what, have them here too. That way if you dont sempat buy there you can buy here! 😀 FYI, there’s also Guess, Quicksilver, Roxy, Charles&Keith, Giordano,…

    cibol
    Really? Are you sure it’s not just ‘cos you forgot how I write since I didn’t write for quite a while? Hehe…Anyhow, thanks! 😀

    clement
    That long? Wow…good for them that business is expanding then. LOL.

  6. Pingback: Chica.go7? « Perfect Imperfections

  7. Pingback: My Privileged Life « Perfect Imperfections

  8. Pingback: My sweetie… « Perfect Imperfections

  9. I love tHe Spring so much ! It makes me fill like in KL. Thanks so much to tHe Spring’s Developer, you makes Kuching people dreams come true.

  10. is there forever21 or wetseal or charlotte russe there in kuching?

    i wish they have those stores… im states right now…

    I wouldn’t know cos I’m no longer in Kuching now. Hehe…Kuching people, any answers???
    Welcome to PIMP and come again ya…

Comments are closed.