Once upon a time…

After being away from this blog for quite a long while, I’m having trouble writing

It’s NOT not knowing what to write…It’s more like “where do I start?” because I have so many things in my head right now! 😀

*ponders*

Oh, what-da-heck…I guess I’ll just start in chronological order…

~#~

So here’s what happened…

Last month, on a Wednesday, I received a call from Shah Alam telling me to get my toosh all the way there for a scholarship interview – one that I applied for a few months ago which I didn’t exactly expect to be called for. The interview was the following Tuesday. It was last minute and I decided, what-da-heck. Opportunity presents itself so I might as well go lah…

So on Thursday I applied for leave and that night bought return tickets. The tickets itself cost me RM500! And pocket money for travel…there goes all my savings since I started working…*pokai*

And so…after my convocation in May, this was the first time I returned to West Malaysia…It was a beautiful Sunday morning, though it did rain a bit, I was flying in economy (as usual), window seat (as usual) and looking out the plane’s window. The view was as breathtaking as always

 

This was the first time I used a camera on board a flight so I was snapping away with glee. LOL.

It was a good flight… I managed to catch some 40 winks…and soon I was at the LCCT terminal. My ex-housemate Roy and his girlfriend Beb came to fetch me. From the terminal, we went straight to our beloved CSS (Catholic Students Society) house…and a Welcoming Party was in full-swing to welcome me!!!

Haha…no lah. It was a Welcoming Gathering…for the juniors. But it was super-cun timing cos that way I got to meet a lot of me ol’ friends in one slot…haha…

I managed to tapau some kolo mee before I left for the airport that morning. Trust me, that’s the best gift anyone coming from Sarawak can give them. And Kuching has the best kolo mee! 😀

 

Each pack is Rm2.50 (kolo mee so mahal now!!!)

But it was worth it to see the joy on their faces…

Kesian… 🙂

At night, Roy and Beb took me around the town in our rented orange kancil – which I fell in love with immediately when they fetched me that morning (and thus had him rent it to send me back to the terminal 2 days later)

Anyway, one of my agenda while I was there was to visit my fave haunts…

Tesco hypermarket

There were these salt crystal lamps on sale which caught my attention…

Are they sold in Sarawak? I think so, yet I’ve never seen ’em here before…

 

Oh yes…and the reason I love Tesco?

I love the sizzling mushroom chicken rice at the foodcourt there…hehe…

 

YUM!!

…and then we went to the NEW Tesco Extra

 

…which is situated where Macro used to be…

After that, I was tired and sleepy (and it was time to return the car anyways) so they dropped me off at CSS and I tucked in for the night. No, didn’t stay up to watch AJL (Anugerah Juara Lagu) with the rest…

The next morning, Monday I went to me ol’ campus as I had some errands to do…

 

Where my classes used to be…and where the interview the following day was…

Blacky accompanied me as he didn’t have class that day. Unfortunately, the officer I was looking to deal with was unavailable…so we had to “try again” in the afternoon…so to kill time, we went – SHOPPING. Hehe…

We went to SACC (Shah Alam City Center)

 

PAS (Plaza Alam Sentral)

But we didn’t buy much since we wanted to get back to campus as soon as the officer returned from lunch…(We have to show ’em we mean business maa..)…but in our zeal, we arrived an hour too early…and so, we just waited…

It paid off eventually and we could get back to CSS

And then the real deal started – preparation for the interview the following day. There were gonna be two sessions – mock teaching and interview. Gulp!

I spent the entire evening preparing the slideshow presentation for Tuesday’s first session…and all night “rehearsing”…that and having a blast during the Farewell makan we had that night…Again, not for me, but the timing also super-cun as if it was for me…haha… 🙂

Tuesday came and went without me knowing it…

The interview was…dunno-how-to-say. Suffice to say, I don’t think I’ll get the scholarship to further my studies and ultimately become a lecturer…At least I went and tried right? 🙂

My flight back to Kuching was on Tuesday night…before leaving for the airport, I even managed to have a quick dinner with an ol’ friend of mine…

In short, my brief and last-minute trip to Shah Alam couldn’t have turned out better than as if I’d planned it for months…all except the main reason I was there in the first place…

Ironic isn’t it?

9 responses to “Once upon a time…

  1. Pingback: Once upon a time…

  2. cdason,
    Ohh…no, I wasn’t in Shah Alam yet at that time…hehe. I joined CSS-SA in 2004. U were a CSS-SAian? I only joined 1 ICG…2005 at Peace Haven, Genting.

    Actually, the world memang small…u’d be surprised. 🙂

    damyantig,
    Hey! Welcome to Perfect Imperfections!
    So you were a visitor to Malaysia? 🙂

  3. Lola,
    Hahaha…yup, that’s here…Rock as usual. LOL.
    Useless huh? But definitely got artistic value no? And maybe medicinal?? The ppl selling them (foreigner) said something abt how them being salt is good for those who have asthma…

    Cibol,
    Haha…and in Genting you played guitar. 🙂

  4. Pingback: My sweetie… « Perfect Imperfections

Comments are closed.