The BEST barter trade.Ever.

A few days ago, we got a pamphlet when we went shopping at Boulevard here in Kuching. (When I say “we” I really mean my family ‘cos I wasn’t there actually. LOL!)

Anyways, it was a blood donation campaign pamphlet…You know, those pamphlets where they inform you there is a blood donation drive happening at so-and-so on so-and-so?

Not interested you say?

Lemme justΒ draw your attention (especially if you are in KUCHING) to the following…

5 reasons why you should donate blood (and pay close attention to Reason #5):

#1. It’s healthy (Me thinks?)

#2. It’s you “giving back” to the community

#3. You are helping others

#4. You’ll know your blood type!

Honestly, a show of hands, how many of you actually KNOW what’s your blood type huh? πŸ˜‰

#5 You get a FREE sack of rice!!!

Yup, you read it correctly…

According to that pamphlet, they will give EACH donor a sack of rice.Β Blood for MoneyBarter Trade? πŸ˜‰

Call it what you will but with the high price of rice now, that campaign sure sounds appealing, no? πŸ˜€ Β It’s a WIN-WIN situation…

Say, for example, a family of 4 (Father, Mother and 2 teenage boys) consumes 2 sacks of rice a month.

If all 4 donate blood, they get 4 sacks of rice for FREE! That is equal to 2 months supply of rice!!! Tempting or not? πŸ˜‰ Hehehe…

Well, that’s happening this 6th of July at the Boulevard, Kuching…so if you’re in Kuching – what are you waiting for??? πŸ˜‰

And if you’re NOT in Kuching – maybe you should be!!! πŸ™‚ LOL!

Personally, I have always had the intention of donating blood (primarily to know my blood type – Yup, I don’t know!!!)…that means the Rice has nothing to do with it…but I never got round to doing it as the HUGE needles they use freaks me out!Β   😦

This picture is enough to make me FLICH!!!! *faints*

So…if you don’t have such problem, amd you are eligible (old enough, healthy enough) to donate, by all means…do go…

A pint of your blood could save hundreds of lives (according to what I read on the pamphlet)

So yeah…see you there!

Maybe.

Heck,Β I don’t even know where the pamphlet is already…so what does that tell you? πŸ™‚

Anyways, Mom went back home tonight…so life is back to normal again at the casa…

…except now there are 3 adults and a baby…hehehe…

15 responses to “The BEST barter trade.Ever.

  1. You know what, Mar? I have a draft to post to encourage people to donate blood but never get round to actually posting it! LOL And now you already beat me to it… except mine has nothing to do with the free sack of rice! Maybe I’ll post it soon and link this post too… πŸ˜‰

    Blood donation is okay, it won’t hurt you Mar… they’ll inject mild anesthetic first before inserting that big needle as you called it.. hehehe

    I used to donate blood once every 3 months when I was working on contract based at a hospital, I like donating blood because of somehow I know I can help save a life or two. My blood group? Yang paling laku! O+ve πŸ˜€

  2. Hahahaha..My blood is B+++++….Want some? but u give me free fuel for life instead of bag of rice coz i plant it at the back of my house!! hahahaha…

  3. STP,
    Donate extra pint?! When my colleague mentioned that some people actually do donate 2 bags (2 pints?) I was shocked!!! THAT’S A LOT!!! I practically yelled to him, “If I’m gonna donate blood, no ones gonna take more than a pint of blood from me!!!” Besides, we women donate blood every month maa…It’s you men who need to donate during these campaigns. LOL!!! πŸ˜€

    melbie,
    …they’ll inject mild anesthetic first before inserting that big needle…
    Means they put needles in me TWICE?! Lagilah I *gulps*…

    Yea, my personal opinion, donating blood is very noble…but those needles really really put some off…Maybe the rice “incentive” will help this time…Hope so. LOL.

    By all means, link. πŸ™‚

    drumsticks,
    So…when are you going to? πŸ˜‰

    cdason,
    C’mon…be a role model for your students πŸ˜€ …kekeke…
    Are you gonna be there? πŸ™‚

    Loudshir,
    Melampau nya…Org bagi betis minta paha…Dah give free sack of rice, minta lifetime supply of fuel…LOL!!! Which is not reasonable also lah since u donate once get lifetime supply…hehe

    Eh, how u know ur blood type sedangkan u never donate huh???? So…u gonna donate now? πŸ˜‰

    May,
    Very scary hor? *shivers*

  4. You shud know ur blood type by now..i got the ‘cert’ oredi but nvr donate..i’ll show it to u if we jumpa..now, give me the fuel coz my blood can save thousands of life..!!! where izit??? hahahaha…

  5. drumsticks,
    …when/if I overcome my fear of needles? πŸ˜‰

    Loudshir,
    How’d u get the cert leh? o.O

    Fuel at petrol station lah! U donate/don’t donate it’s got nothing to do with me…wakakaka!

  6. i donated my blood in May. it’s not painful lah, got local anesthetic. they rub it.. then put the BIG needle in. πŸ™‚
    haha, imagine many people like you, may and drumstick, scared of needles.. blood donation drive sure not very laku πŸ˜›

    you will get a cert and a book, detailing how much you had donated, when was it, where.. bla bla.. it’s a record book. small size, red colour. some people will get dizzy after donating blood.. some after 2 pints feel nothing.. πŸ˜€

    menstrual? heh.. average blood loss is around 35ml.. what lah.. 1 pint = 550ml. you need to ‘bleed’ 15 days to get that hahaha! and, it’s call donate meh? donate to who? it’s ‘throw away’.. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. 1 pint=550ml?! That’s the small bottle of mineral water…and considering that its BLOOD in there – THAT’S A LOT OF BLOOD!!! *gulps*

    At least we have valid reasons why we don’t donate – not simply bcos we “selfish” or don’t care…The intention is there. All I need is a lil push…maybe someone to go with me so I won’t panic and faint! πŸ˜‰ Are you gonna donate this time? Go lah…since you’ve got no problems with needles…hehe

    …it’s not donate lah but we “bleed out” our blood EVERY month maa whereas I heard after a person donates, he can only donate again after 3 months! πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: Collecting stones… « Perfect Imperfections

  9. Pingback: “The Day After Tomorrow” « Perfect Imperfections

Comments are closed.