A letter for you

I know it’s been quite a while we last wrote letters to each other. That was ages ago! Especially now that there’s email and practically everyone is reachable on mobile phones and SMS. But I figured that today, I’ll just turn back time a bit (just ignore that the medium used to deliver this “letter” is via my blog k? 😉 ) and write a decent letter to you instead…

I know you don’t want the world to “see” you online but I have this all planned out. I will put up a picture of us from many many years back and let the whole world see what a cute team we made. Just this one time k. 😉 I’m thinking of putting up the one of us when we got back from Church (you know, the one when you got stung by a bee?), or the one of us in pyjamas eating those sweet red cuttlefish things, or perhaps one of us going skinny dipping at sea? Which do you prefer? Or maybe there’s a fave pic of us from those many years ago you’d prefer? 😀

So while you ponder what picture I’m going to put up, I have a confession to make. I SO hated it then when you would keep secrets from me. And I SO hated it then times you would bully me to do stuff and threatened me if I wouldn’t. Do you remember all those times you teased me till I cried? How about all those times you left me behind because it wasn’t “cool” to bring me along when you hung out with your friends? I didn’t know it then but I know it now. That no matter what you ever did to hurt me last time, it could never compare to all the great things you’ve done for me through the years…

You were the one who taught me how to ride a bike. You made scrapping our knees on the gravel when we fell didn’t hurt much since we were having fun! 😀 Remember how we used to pretend that our bikes were horses? 😉 And then there were those times we broke into” the neighbour’s houses after they moved to see what we could salvage. We found many treasures didn’t we? And those times we would make all sorts of stuff using Lego and our escapades and adventures using walkie-talkies and water pistols? But we also had fun playing cook and baking didn’t we? With real food and “pretend-food” too! 😀 Thanks to you, I’m not a girly-girl but a well-adjusted one. And I guess thanks to me, you’re well-adjusted and not those wanna-be-macho jerks instead. LOL! 😉

Growing up in your shadow was never easy, especially with the high standards you set. Although having people place high expectations on me can have its stressful periods at time, I always have you. You are the one I look up to. You are my idol. You are the one I turn to for advice. I admit, there are times when I do feel a bit too “overprotected” but I can never imagine how life would have turned out if I didn’t have you in my life.

I guess I’m speaking on behalf of the whole family when I say that ever since you were born 30 years ago, you have been nothing but a joy to all of us! There’s a saying: “You can choose your Friends but you can’t choose your Family.” And WE are truly Blessed that YOU are in OURs…

So here’s to a wonderful Big Brother to me and our other two younger brothers and the perfect Son to our parents…And no pressure Bro, but since you have an amazing track record as Brother and Son, I’ve no doubt that you are a great Husband and will be a wonderful Father too!… 😀

Happy 30th Birthday!!!!
May the Lord Bless and Keep You and Your Family Always…
WE LOVE YOU!!!

Oh, and no doubt you’ll be pleased to know that I am NOT putting up any pictures of when we were little. Why? Because I can’t find a scanner here. No kids, when we were kids, we didn’t have digital cameras so all the pictures are “real”, unlike those today. Man, just typing that makes me feel “seasoned”…

So Bro, enjoy this song, dedicated especially for you on your birthday…(Make sure you scroll all the way to the bottom of this post!)

My Wish – Rascal Flatts

I hope the days come easy and the moments pass slow,
And each road leads you where you wanna go,
And if you’re faced with a choice, and you have to choose,
I hope you choose the one that means the most to you.
And if one door opens to another door closed,
I hope you keep on walkin’ till you find the window,
If it’s cold outside, show the world the warmth of your smile.
But more than anything, more than anything…

My wish, for you, is that this life becomes all that you want it to,
Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small,
You never need to carry more than you can hold,
And while you’re out there getting where you’re getting to,
I hope you know somebody loves you, and wants the same things too,
Yeah, this, is my wish.

I hope you never look back, but you never forget,
All the ones who love you, in the place you left,
I hope you always forgive, and you never regret,
And you help somebody every chance you get,
Oh, you find God’s grace, in every mistake,
And always give more than you take.
But more than anything, yeah, more than anything…

My wish, for you, is that this life becomes all that you want it to,
Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small,
You never need to carry more than you can hold,
And while you’re out there getting where you’re getting to,
I hope you know somebody loves you, and wants the same things too,
Yeah, this, is my wish. Yeah, yeah.

My wish, for you, is that this life becomes all that you want it to,
Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small,
You never need to carry more than you can hold,
And while you’re out there getting where you’re getting to,
I hope you know somebody loves you, and wants the same things too,
Yeah, this, is my wish (my wish, for you).

This is my wish (my wish, for you)
I hope you know somebody loves you (my wish, for you).
May all your dreams stay big (my wish, for you).

P.S. Btw, how OLD does it feel to be the BIG 3-0? 😉

Forever Your One-And-Only Younger Sis,
~Mar~

6 responses to “A letter for you

  1. Happy belated birthday (the birthday was yesterday right?) to Mar’s big brother! 🙂

    and.. hello mar… 😀 Good to “see” you again in here ehehehe

    Mar: Hey..Thanks n nice to “see” u here on my blog agn.Hehe.

  2. Belated birthday greetings to your bro! Triple-XXX sounds like my t-shirt size! Hahahahahahaha!!!!! 30 only! So young!!!

    Hahaha…I’ll make sure to tell him that! LOL!
    Welcome back! Long time no sound one u… 😉

  3. To Mar’s Bro: HAPPY 30th BIRTHDAYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    wah wah My Wish by Rascal Flatts, I love this song badly!!! More like a wedding theme song? Kikikikikikikiki

    Mar: Wedding theme? No leh..Got d mp3 kah?Gimme gimme. Haha..

  4. What a cute bday dedication..
    Ur bro must be pleased like punch
    This goes straight to the rocker chic sister’s chicken soup for the soul 🙂

    Ehehe…thanks. 😉
    Welcome to PIMP!

Comments are closed.