Of Facebook, Language, Stalkers and Swine Flu

Ya know, I had this “Add New Post” window open for HOURS but didn’t even type a single letter. Wanna know why?

I didn’t know what to write.

I guess I was kinda “exhausted”. I blame it on the heat. The weather is so HOT!!! My skin is breaking out in pimples! Huhuhu…And I think all the thinking cells I need to write was “used-up” over the past week – stress at work and my first time “writing under pressure” as there was an Article I needed to submit – Phew! Glad that’s done. And I still imagine to be a columnist? LOL! 😉

Another reason was, I was sucked into doing all these quizzes on Facebook.

Most are really pointless…yet they are so addictive. However, ONE such quiz is not pointless. (This was the only quiz I ever did before, but now…heh) Anyways, it’s the “How Well Do You Know Me?” series and from it I realised that I know some people better than I expected, and some I realised, I didn’t know at all. 😦

So, try mine out and see how much you know me! 🙂

Btw, ONE of the questions has a technical error so if you get THAT question wrong, no worries, I will personally add it to your score – kinda like a Bonus Question. 😉

Apart from Facebook, I was also bloghopping and this post by Zewt triggered my interest.

I have always felt blessed to have been brought up in Brunei because that is the main reason I think my English is how it is now. But do I consider English as my first language? Honestly, I never even thought of it! I mean, I never even once analysed which of the 3 languages I am well-versed in is my FIRST language…

Personally, I define FIRST language as the very first language I learned, which is of course, my mother tongue. However, apart from my mother tongue, I think English CAN be considered to be my first language since that was the language I was exposed to first when I started school. (Yes, in Brunei the education system is in English.) Furthermore, my English is FAR better than my Bahasa and my English vocab is a lot bigger than that of my mother tongue! 🙂

So, what is YOUR first language???

Anyways, I also stumbled upon this interesting post and I must say,

I never realised that some of the songs I listen to/know of (Def Leppard’s “Two Steps Behind”, The Turtles’ Happy Together” or Bryan Adams’s “(Everything I Do) I Do It For You” ) sounded “that way”. 😀

And who can NOT talk about it: The Swine Flu.

I wiki-ed the H1N1 and the symptoms are similar to that of your “normal flu”.

But here’s the thing, according to wiki, The Mexican fatalities are alleged to be mainly young adults of 25 to 45, a common trait of pandemic flu. (Wiki: A pandemic (from Greek παν pan all + δήμος demos people) is an epidemic of infectious disease that spreads through populations across a large region; for instance a continent, or even worldwide.) That spells TROUBLE for most of us.

Let us all try our hardest NOT to get sick ok? Drinks lotsa water…especially with this heat!

*off to get some icecream*

Wow, from not knowing what I wanted to write, I ended up sharing quite a lot… 😉

3 responses to “Of Facebook, Language, Stalkers and Swine Flu

  1. English is also my first language.. I call it the new bidayuh language.. hahaha… thats why, i say to my colleagues and friends that we call those things growing on trees as “fruits” and not ‘buah’..hehehhe

    Hahaha…well, I am just glad that we know AT LEAST 2 languages…hehehe

  2. I think now everyone is so hot about facebook. almost everyone have a account. Now come another twitter.

    Yes, thankfully I’m not on Twitter. Haha. Welcome to PIMP! 😀 Can’t help but feel I’ve met you on the blogosphere somewhere…hmmm…

Comments are closed.