Why worry?

Worrying is part of our fallen human nature…and as much as we tell ourselves that we shouldn’t worry and that He is our source of providence we STILL worry…

Today especially, I am reminded of this…

As of 1st December 2010, my dad was “obliged” to “retire” given his age…and being the sole breadwinner of the family for over 30 years (faithful to the same employer at that!), he is now unemployed…and considering we stay at the staff quarters…we’ll need to find a place now…

That only meant either of 2 things:

1) The family had to migrate back to our “motherland” where we have a place but not where the heart is, leaving me here all alone…

2) The family could stay with me…but where I am is not where they are used to be…

Either way, the role of sole breadwinner will now shift to me (assisted by my older bro who already has a family of his own…) which is overwhelming since I wouldn’t consider myself “fully established” in the working world yet with just over 3 years of working experience, with only 2+ years here…and I too, stay at my staff quarters…who is to say how long that’ll last…

And my younger brothers are just leaving High School…with the future lying open to them…and yet, in light of these circumstances…it seems very very trying…

We worried. Worried we did. And we still worry…

But He reminded us not to worry…

On 30th Nov 2010, the last day that my dad would be employed, my mom, who had been a housewife for most of her life, was offered a job…she didn’t even look for a job…it was offered to her… Albeit it is somewhat temporary at the moment…we have been reminded not to worry…that He will take care of us…

And my dad, being the family man that he is…is valiantly heading out into the world and trying to find new places of employment…although his age is definitely something that makes it almost impossible…Nothing is impossible for Him…

And my brothers, my baby brothers…at a lost of what to do…are simply praying in faith that somehow we’ll make ends meet (and then some) during this trying time…

As for myself, I feel helpless…inadequate…parents should not be working anymore…I should be able to support them…and I worry…I still worry…but I remind myself to take it day by day…for truly, He is the sole provider…to Him and Him alone do we cast our worries…

1 The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want; 2 he makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters; 3 he restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of my enemies; thou anointest my head with oil, my cup overflows. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD for ever. – Psalm 23

8 responses to “Why worry?

  1. Pingback: Why worry? «

  2. God will provide…but it is good to stay active, physically and mentally, after retirement. But it is all the time to go a bit more slowly, enjoy life more, relax more…plus handle finances very carefully – whatever money one may have now will not last forever and the pension isn’t that much really.

  3. taking time off for a while would be good for the moment. only after a while, plan what you wanted to do. my dad will come to that age in another 2 years. and now he had been doing something that he would definitely do when he reaches that age.

  4. It is unavoidable to worry, us being human 🙂 But just don’t think of it too much, don’t stress yourself over it 🙂 I blogged about myself being a worrywart last year I think, so it is my habit, so I know how you feel… but fret not, HE will make ends meet, HE has planned everything for us… Just look at me, unemployed, but I am surviving, aren’t I? 🙂 Whenever my fund went dangerously low, some means will come my way and make ends meet 🙂 Just have faith and all of you will be fine 🙂

Comments are closed.