RWMF 2012: From Day to Night

 

So the second day of the 15th Rainforest World Music Festival (RWMF) was pretty interesting.

After a sorta random morning, I reached One Hotel Santubong (OHS) alone and brisk walked up to the Media Centre to “report for duty”. All of a sudden, someone jumps in front of me exclaiming: “Are you Marg???” And that guys, was how I met Lindy (fellow Sarawak Blogger). ;) She promptly introduced me to Garner (another Sarawak Blogger), right after I collected my wristband, finally meeting Gustino in person, and getting a VIP Invite to the Heinekebana (which comes with a cool and eco-friendly tote bag!).

A very productive day, I thought, considering I hadn’t even been there for half an hour.😉

We three bloggers proceeded to wait for the media/performers van – I just found out that as media we get free transport between OHS & Sarawak Cultural Village (SCV)🙂 – while deciding on which Workshops to attend. I won’t go into details  as you can read more on the workshops from Lindy and Garner, but basically, there are 3 workshops happening simultaneously in 3 different venues, thus, one can only choose to attend 3 workshops (out of 9) a day. So while I was only in time for the main (night) concerts just a few hours before, Saturday gave me the opportunity to have a better understanding of what happens during the day.

And so I decided to join Lindy for the “The Voice” workshop (on vocals) at the Iban longhouse.

We got to see the performers up close – especially since we sat in the front-most row, right by their feet hehehe…

Can you spot us?😉 [Photo courtesy of the Sarawak Tourism Board.] 

The String Sisters: Mairead Ni Mhaoniaigh & Emma Hardelien

Abdoulaye from Mamadou Diabate’s Percussion Mania & Mr Kanda Bongo Man himself

The guys from Danyel Waro’s band (on the left is Danyel Waro himself)

Kaela Rowan (String Sisters), James Mackintosh (String Misters😉 ) &…

…Karim Sanou from Mamadou Diabate’s Percussion Mania

After that, we met up with Garner at Dewan Lagenda for the “Hands On” workshop (on percussions).

This time, I’ll let the percussions tell the story:

I can’t remember what this instrument is called – I actually thought it was just a box-shaped stool until he started playing it😉 – but I remember being suitably amazed by the sound coming from it!😀

And this guy…

Well, he’s just AMAZING…*crush crush LOL!…from HATA – a band I could not wait to watch the following night!

There were a few other awesome display of percussions during the workshop. There was even an impromptu jam session! Sorry, I only  have 2 videos – was too engrossed in the moment to record.😉

If you thought that was bad, after that was the “Hip Hip Hip” workshop on the Kwasa-Kwasa dance & other Congolese dances.

Forget videos! (except for the only one above) – I didn’t even take any photos as I was busy dancing ehehehe.

Here’s a photo of the Kibasa dance, which was a favourite of all of us!🙂

Thanks Lindy for this photo!😉

Me & Lindy @ Dewan Lagenda

Garner & I

It turned out that Priscilla & Yvonne (also Sarawak Bloggers) were also there, so after sweating it out with the Kibasa and the Koco-Koco etc, we all headed over to the Media/Performers Camp for drinks:

@SWKBLOGS media team! Clockwise: Priscilla, Yvonne, Garner, Lindy & me. Too bad Fatimah & Fazli wasn’t there.

Considering it was the first time most of us met one another, we sure didn’t take too long to click!😉 I actually felt a little hesitant to leave the team then but I wanted to attend the press conference with the Minister of Tourism. Duty comes first.🙂

Press Conference (PC) @ SCV Restaurant

Datuk Amar Abang Haji Abdul Rahman Zohari Bin Tun Abang Haji Openg, The Honourable Tourism Minister of Sarawak

Dato Rashid Khan, Chief Executive Officer of the Sarawak Tourism Board

Teaser: Next year’s Rainforest World Music Festival is gonna hit the streets! <- that’s what I learnt at the PC😉

The PC closed with dinner, so I had the chance to meet other media representatives from other countries like Palestine, Indonesia and also our brethren from West Malaysia. It’s always interesting for me to hear how others came to be in the media industry.🙂

After dinner, I went to the entrance of SCV to rendezvous with friends and look what I saw!

The crowd at the entrance at about 6pm-ish, no doubt ready to party.😉

As for us, first thing first, was to claim 2 free drinks at the Heinekebana!😀

Since we were given draft beer, we had to drink inside the cabana so we were only able to watch the opening by Gongs of Malaysia and the first half hour of Khusugtun (from Mongolia) shown via the TV there. Oddly though, the reception wasn’t too good and we couldn’t really hear much.😦 But the chilled Heineken in a tall glass was nice! And so was the ambience. We were too comfortable until we forgot to take any photos inside. Heh.

Anyways, when we did reach the stage area, the front of the stage was packed! It’s normal that Saturday has more crowd than Friday…

Yes, this is “normal” alright!😀 [Photo courtesy of the Sarawak Tourism Board]

So we opted to sit down near the big screen on the left side of the (main) Jungle Stage instead.

But fret not, thanks to Lindy, we have this:

Khusugtun

After the “incredible throat singing from the Steppes of Genghis Khan” (per the Programme book) came Danyel Waro from the Reunion Islands. He was at The Voice workshop that morning so I knew some of his songs already. His vocals was, of course, impressive but what caught my attention was this instrument called the kayanm/kayamb:

Photo courtesy of Lindy

I couldn’t find a video of him playing it during that night, but I found this on youtube so you’ll get why I’m so puzzled. Ever since I saw them play it during the vocal and percussions workshop that morning, I kept wondering what it was made of, how it made such sound…and then be reminded of people “menampi padi” or winnowing (n. The process of removing husks or chaff from threshed grain.)😉

Next up was our own Malaysian Diplomats of Drum, and weren’t they a force to be reckoned with!

Photo source: skjongphotography

Did you know that they were the only non-mainstream band to have performed at the Beijing Olympics 2008 musical showcase and…wait for it…the FIFA 2010 World Cup in South Africa?! Waka waka eh eh~

Well, I didn’t need to remember those facts then because the music itself got me on my feet, along with everybody else.😀

Next was Raiz de Cafezal from Brazil.

Photo source: RWMF website

They were at the Tree Stage which was pretty far away from where we were sitting/standing but from what I could hear, all their songs had quite a similar beat thus it kinda all blurred together into one song for me (especially since I didn’t understand the language). However, I was quite impressed by the performers:

Didn’t their arms get tired?🙂 [Video source: http://www.youtube.com/user/12playbyear]

Lastly, to close the second night of the RWMF was Cankisou from Czech Republic – and they rocked!

Cankisou

But don’t just take my word for it.😉 Listen and see for yourself:

Too bad we weren’t able to stay till the very end like the night before though as we were taking the shuttle back to town (RM15/way) and it had been quite a long day…

Long queue for the bus back to town

I was impressed by the girl in the wheelchair – proof that RWMF is too awesome to be missed for whatever reason!😉

Well, the bus is here!!!

And so, we’ve reached the end of Day 2.😀

Updated: I’ve added a link to Rythm of Borneo’s performance in my previous post.

Note: ALL watermarked photos/videos in my RWMF 2012 series of posts are those taken by me, unless otherwise stated as that from the Sarawak Tourism Board, the @SWKBLOGS Media Team or other sources.

 

7 responses to “RWMF 2012: From Day to Night

  1. LOL!! I where got jump, I walk gracefully in front of you and said ‘ Hi, are you Marg’, stylishly. (perasan mode!) HAHAHAH! Very up close workshop indeed, at some part very awkward, if you know what I mean. HAHA! I love the group pic here, goofy is good. haha! May i steal it? And another great coverage!🙂

  2. Hahaha…Lindy walked stylishly to you? Well, if not mistaken I thought she glomped at you right? Owh! Look at the bloggers photo. Sorry Marg for not being serious in the photo. I’m normally behind cameras, hence the shyness hahaha. Anyway, love the videos posted here🙂

    • Suffice to say, I will never forget how I met Lindy.😉 Haha…
      As for the photo, I remembered yelling “crazy pose!” before the shutter snapped, guess only you & Lindy did though. LOL! Thanks!😀

  3. Pingback: RWMF 2012: Off The Books | Perfect IMPerfections

  4. Pingback: RWMF 2012 Bloggers coverage | Sarawak Bloggers News Tribune

  5. Pingback: RWMF 2012: Highlights | Perfect IMPerfections

Comments are closed.