Whatsapp check marks: Good or Bad?

I love whatsapp.

My mobile communication life has greatly improved since I had it a few years ago:

I no longer need to make expensive calls (was never really a talker anyway) unless it’s an emergency.

I no longer need to send short messages (SMS) via the mobile network operator. Those were expensive, and oh-so-limited to just text *gasps* while smileys were restricted to colons and brackets like this -> : ) …unless you send a multimedia message (MMS) which is even more expensive! Gosh.

I was among the first of my group of friends to have whatsapp and proudly introduced it to some of them – “we can message for free* now!” *Free in comparison to the expensive & limited SMS/MMS options then.

So yes I love whatsapp!

The check marks however, is a different story.

In case you’re not familiar with whatsapp, here’s how the check marks work:

When you send a message and it is delivered to the server: 1 check mark (tick) appears beside your message.

When it reaches the receiver’s device: Another tick appears, totalling 2 ticks. However, just because it has reached the receiver’s device it doesn’t necessarily mean that it has been read (you can receive a message and not open in for hours..days..etc). This has led to many a confusion about messages thought to have been read and ignored (when they were probably only delivered but yet to be read).

Well, I have good news for you! Or maybe not so good news?!

Whatsapp now has coloured ticks to show that a message has been read!

Read about how it works here:

http://www.androidpit.com/whatsapp-check-marks-explained

Basically, if the 2 ticks mentioned above change from grey to blue – the message has been “read”.

Pros:
Now you will know for sure if your message was read (and if it was ignored).

Cons:
Now you will know for sure if you message was read (and if it was ignored).

Yeah…why do I forsee a problem with this? Sometimes it’s good to NOT know “for sure” about something…

Similar to the “last seen” status, I think this “read” ticks really just promotes stalking. There I said it! Honestly, I’ve had less to worry about when I can’t see when people were “last seen” and vice versa. If only I could not see when they were “online” or “typing..” either but I don’t think that’s an option.:/

I hope there’s an option to disable this “read” ticks. If you find out how, let me know.

Until then, enjoy stalking! I mean whatsapping!😉

2 responses to “Whatsapp check marks: Good or Bad?

  1. Pingback: Whatsapp Check Marks | Whatsapp Upgrade

Comments are closed.