I left/came Home

More than a decade and a half ago, I left Brunei Darussalam for my studies but I returned and stayed there for quite a number of years after that. And now, it’s been a little more than a week since I left again – this time for work.

Although Sarawakian, I spent most of my life in Brunei so leaving and going back to Malaysia was, in a way, awkward?

I felt like I left home (Brunei) but then again, I came home (Malaysia)?

Currently, I am 5 hours away from Brunei by land. That means I could always drive back on long weekends and my friends and family in Brunei could visit me here. So it’s not too bad. (When I was away for studies, I was even further!)

With barely a full week at work yet (last week was my first week but I started on a Tuesday) and earlier this week was still the Gawai holidays (ie. public holiday) there’s really nothing much to say yet except I quite enjoy the work environment so far. Everyone is friendly and already I am in the whatsapp group. LOL!

Being able to go back to my village during Gawai was an obvious plus now that I am working in Sarawak. Had I still been in Brunei, that would have required me to take leave off work, but not here. It was a nice reunion with the grandparents and uncles/aunties and cousins after so long.

Another thing I appreciate here is that I am able to speak Bahasa Melayu Sarawak again (and I was fairly impressed how it isn’t rusty at all in spite of not using it for years hehe) and yet still converse in English. Best of both worlds really.

Living accomodation is a work-in-progress though as I am currently living the “suite life” in the local Inns while looking for a place to call home here. Have contacted a few people and have a few prospects but nothing confirmed as yet.

In the meantime though, the past week and so since I left has felt more like a vacation than a relocation – especially since my family is currently still with me since Day 1. They will be returning to Brunei in the next few hours though so maybe then the full reality will sink in.

Anyways, I do hope to actively blog again, at least to update on how things are happening this side of Borneo, so yeah, follow my blog to be notified on future posts!🙂

One response to “I left/came Home

  1. Pingback: Lenten Report Card & Approaching Holy Week |

Comments are closed.