Solivaganting Singapore

The first time I went to Singapore was 6 years ago (Wow…it has been that long?!).

Since then, I have been back for a few more times: for a Conference in 2009, on a Company trip in 2011 and I once spent 10 hours on transit at Changi International Airport in 2014.

That said, I never planned nor expected to be in Singapore (or any other country for that matter) ON MY OWN.

Nor had I ever expected to be in Singapore FOR WORK!

And that’s the beauty of life…it’s full of unexpected surprises…

Well, the past few days being in Singapore by myself has really made me appreciate solo travel.

Getting confused at the airport…

figuring out the public transport…

figuring out how to get from point A to point B, C and D…

trying out apps like Train Maps and Grabtaxi…

and the adrenaline rush of every escapade out and about…

I had always wanted to backpack across the world (on my own if need be) but just never got the guts to do it.

Could this be the trigger that set me on the path to my solivaganting adventures?

While I cannot definitely answer that question yet, I am looking forward to my next solivaganting experience in a few weeks.

Until then,

Signing off from Changi…

Mar

Note: Solivagant is a word which can either be a noun which means “solitary adventurer” or an adjective which defines someone who wanders or travels alone without company.